Skip to content ↓

Duke of Edinburgh

Wightwick Hall School is a Duke of Edinburgh Award Scheme, Licenced Organisation within the Central England D of E Region.

The Award is offered to students from Year 10 onwards and is a voluntary activity. The Duke of Edinburgh Award is world recognised for its high standard and level of training needed to achieve each level.

The programmes are at three progressive levels which, if successfully completed, lead to a Bronze, Silver, or Gold Duke of Edinburgh's Award. The Award is delivered and supported by Wightwick Hall School and the dedicated staff and leaders, but it remains the student's own award.

The Award gives students the opportunity to gain or improve in the following areas,
- Self-belief and self-confidence
- A sense of identity
- Initiative and a sense of responsibility
- A real awareness of their strengths
- New talents and abilities
- The ability to plan and use time effectively
- Learning from and giving to others in the community
- Forming new friendships
- Problem solving, presentation and communication skills
- Leadership and team working skills.

With assistance from Staff Leaders, participants select and set objectives in each of the following areas:

Volunteering: undertaking service to individuals or the community. This area gives students a sense of pride and belonging within the local community or wider school setting.

Physical: improving in an area of sport, dance or fitness activities. The majority of students access this through P.E at Wightwick Hall School. A few also use evening sport clubs also.

Skills: developing practical and social skills and personal interests. The Skills section covers so many topics and is individual to the student, where possible it is assessed and supported within school.

Expedition: planning, training for, and completion of an adventurous journey in the UK or abroad. Expedition is the highlight for most members. WHS has excellent leaders and Expedition Assessors that train, support and assess the students throughout.

At Gold level, participants must do an additional fifth Residential section, which involves staying and working away from home for five days, doing a shared activity.